National Student Composition Class 2018

posted in: Competitions

National Student Composition Class 2018

ACNMP’s National Student Composition Class invites budding composers to submit a work for adjudication/feedback by composer Darlene Chepil Reid, associate of the Canadian Music Centre and faculty member of Lakehead University in Thunder Bay. The Louise MacPherson Memorial Award (amount of $400) will be given to a promising composer based on the recommendation of the adjudicator.

This class and award is made possible through partnership with the Canadian Music Centre.


Students are in invited to submit their compositions (score and soundfile) online at:

Compositions may be in any medium, including electronic, and have a duration from 2 to 10 minutes. Compositions must be unpublished and must not have been performed before the general public prior to adjudication. (Please submit for the age appropriate class.)

Entry Fees:

  • $20 Class C1 (16 years and under)
  • $30 Class C2 (17 to 21 years)
  • $40 Class C3 (22 to 25 years)

Deadline for submissions: October 31, 2018

More about the adjudicator:

Darlene Chepil Reid (BSc. McMaster, HBMus. Lakehead, MMus. Western, DMus. Alberta) is a life-long resident of Thunder Bay. She studied composition with prominent Canadian composers including Allan Gordon Bell, Peter Paul Koprowski, David Myska, and Aris Carastathis. Darlene has been the recipient of many of Canada’s most highly regarded academic scholarships including the Chancellor’s Medal at Lakehead University, SSHRC Masters and Doctoral fellowships. Darlene is a Lecturer at Lakehead University, where she currently teaches Composition, Orchestration, Formal Analysis and Theory. Darlene writes in an avant-garde and experimental fashion for both acoustic and electroacoustic instruments that has been called “gutsy” and “highly unorthodox” but with “rare beauty and emotive power.” Her works have been performed by many soloists across Canada and the United States, and many ensembles including the Thunder Bay Symphony Orchestra, the University of Alberta Symphonic Winds, the University of Western Ontario Chamber Orchestra, and Trio Fibonacci.


Alliance for Canadian New Music Projects
Website: Email:
Phone: 647-794-4804