Memorial Pedagogy Award 2018

posted in: Competitions

The CFMTA/FCAPM Memorial Pedagogy Award is given every two years and is slated to be given this year.


This award has been established to honour teachers who have been recognized for their contributions to the profession.  As a tribute to these teachers, the Pedagogy Award is being offered to a deserving candidate who has recently qualified in this field.  It was initiated upon the passing of Robert Pounder, the first honorary President of CFMTA from 1975 to 1996.


CFMTA/FCAPM is pleased to offer the Memorial Pedagogy Award to the candidate who receives the highest mark in the Teacher’s Written Examination of either the Royal Conservatory of Music (Advanced Level) or Conservatory Canada.  The applicant must have studied with a current CFMTA/FCAPM teacher and the examination must be from a nationally based teaching institution, which examines in every province (Royal Conservatory of Music/Conservatory Canada).


Along with an official transcript of the Pedagogy Examination mark, the applicant will be required to submit a summary of musical training and interim teaching, which will be considered in the case of a tie.  The Memorial Pedagogy Award will be presented biannually during an even numbered year and will be governed by the Awards and Competitions Chairperson.  The closing date for applications to be received by the Chairperson will be June 1, 2018.  Anyone who has completed the requirements during January 2016 to January 2018 will be eligible to apply.

For the English side of the website:
For the French side of the website:


Kind regards,

Sue Jones
Awards and Competitions Chair